top of page

TO EVERY THING (thing, thing, thing...)


Hallowe'en is over. Next up: Thanksgiving!

I didn't realize for the longest time that my life is defined around the next event involving FOOD. This hearkens back to the days of our ancient ancestors, where every waking moment was spent doing one of seven things: chasing food, catching food, preparing food, eating food, avoiding getting eaten, voiding, and doin' it.

Acquiring food these days is so easy that it leaves us plenty of time for the other stuff. Except I still spend an inordinate amount of time working the first four! There are days, months, seasons, eras, epochs, and then there's MEALTIME. And SNACKS! My day is 'eating' and 'the time between eating.'"What about breakfast? Second breakfast? What about elevenses? Luncheon? Afternoon tea? Dinner? Supper? " - Pippin

My coffee ritual starts the day off. After walking/exercising aka wheezing/grunting, I head right for the kitchen. Workdays it's a regular size mug with two teaspoons of sugar and cream. Days off it's the big mug, with lots of cream and a whole tablespoon of sugar. I sit down in the living room (now that it's too cold to sit out on the patio) and the needier of my two cats immediately comes and lies down against my right thigh, exposing acres of downy white belly fur ready for rubbing. I have learned to hold my coffee in my left hand. Then I have Multigrain Cheerios, which are deceptively sweet, but they require no prep and I only eat a little. This is a big change from the old days of getting an "extra lahge" from Dunkin', with donuts or a breakfast sandwich on the side. Every day. Now I drive by the exit for my old Dunkin and feel sad...

Lunch is salad, salad, salad. I've expounded on this before. It tastes good, I have to admit. Sometimes I put sunflower seeds on it, and always creamy dressing. Love those creamy dressings. Some days I go to Subway and get a "wrap", and sometimes I skip lunch, which is not a good thing. Because when I get home, I'm HONGRY. And then it's really hard to not immediately snarf down ten pieces of American cheese and a bunch of Gherkins.

Dinner is always welcome, whatever it is, and I admit it's been harder not to "cheat" since I went to the doctor. I made spaghetti and meatballs on Hallowe'en (for the kids - yet another selfless maternal act) and boy, did it taste amazing! I love pasta. I even had a piece of garlic toast. I ate some chocolate that night, too. It was delicious! I think I got a buzz after that because I actually stayed awake sitting in front of the television. That never happens.

I've noticed that I get full much faster than I used to. I guess my massive stomach is getting smaller on the inside as well. This is distressing, because I have to have some of everything on Thanksgiving. There's no way I'm going to bake an apple pie from scratch and not have any. Also pumpkin. And maybe a third kind... I know after all that prep, I'm going to have two bites of everything and then be full. Nothing says I'm thankful like eating so much I have to lie down on the living room floor like a beached whale, mumbling "Let's go for a walk...later," before I doze off for six hours.

Between now and then there are no birthdays, no parties, no excuses - only long boring days of healthy food, tireless commitment, and grueling exercise, which I will happily undo on November 26th, when I start stealing the stuffing out of the pan (you know - the stuff that falls out of the turkey and ends up getting carmelized in all that FAT, so it's half crunchy/half soggy...)

I think I need to be alone.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page